Book Tour Swings East

Last weekend I traveled east to speak and promote Almost Pioneers.

The first stop was Kirtland, Ohio, to the northwest of Cleveland.  There, Lakeland Community College sponsors the Western Reserve Spring Writer’s Conference.  Its tireless organizer and promoter, Deanna Adams, had invited me to speak about historical research and writing.  I had attended the fall Western Reserve Writer’s Conference in 2011, and I credit what I learned there with enabling me to get an agent and a publisher for Almost Pioneers.  So Saturday morning, I had a wonderful time talking to writers about frameworks for thinking about history and sources that are helpful for researchers.  Many thanks to Dee for the invitation.

On Monday, I spoke at my alma mater, Geneva College, in Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania.  Beaver Falls is about an hour northwest of Pittsburgh in the Beaver Valley, and Geneva’s campus is beautiful even in March when there are no leaves on the trees.  Tom Copeland, a fellow classmate of the class of 1991, invited me to give a book talk.  It was great to see two of my history professors, David Wollman and Jim Sterrett, and Kae Kirkwood, who I worked for in the library.  My parents, Charlie and Joan Fry, were also able to attend.

Thanks to all who came.

Leave a Reply

